Kaal Bhairav Jayanti Katha: All you need to know

Kaal Bhairav Jayanti Katha: All you need to know

KaalBhairavJayanti also known as Kaalashtami falls on the Ashtami of Krishna Paksha in the Margashirsh month. It marks the appearance of Lord Shiva’s furious form KaalBhairav. He came into being to punish the evil and destroy the ones who did wrongful acts. His other names are Dandapati which literally means the one who punishes. Ardent devotees of Shiva not only worship the God on this day but also observe a fast. It is an important time of the year to seek blessings of the mighty Lord KaalBhairav. Performing ritualistic puja on KaalBhairavJayanti removes fear and bestows courage.

KaalBhairavJayanti Story

Once the Gods questioned Lord Brahma and desired to know what was the indestructible element in this entire world. They wanted to see the indestructible God whose beginning or end was unknown. Lord Brahma replied that He was the invincible among all because He is the Creator of this Universe. The Gods then asked the same question to Lord Vishnu. He said that He is the indestructible God because the world’s sustenance & preservation depends on Him. Due to the diverging answers from both the deities, the Gods called Four Vedas to find the truth. The Four Vedas declared that Lord Shiva was the one whose origin is unknown, the past, present & future is contained within Him and He is invulnerable in the three worlds. As Lord Brahma heard this, He was angered and said disrespectful things about Lord Shiva. This displeased the Four Vedas and at that very moment, a pillar of gleaming light appeared. It was Lord Rudra who appeared in the form of a sacred light. Lord Brahma said that Rudra was born from His head and Rudra should serve Him. Enraged by this,Lord Shiva created Bhairav who was a ferocious avatar of Shiva Himself. He was created to keep a control over Brahma.

KaalBhairavJayanti Puja

  • Wake up early on KaalBhairavJayanti. Take a bath and cleanse the surroundings by sprinkling Gangajal
  • Wear black clothes on this day
  • Set up an altar for KaalBhairav Puja and lay a black cloth on it
  • Worship Lord KaalBhairav with sincere devotion
  • Offer Akshat (whole rice grains), Chandan (Sandalwood), Black Urad lentils, Black Sesame seeds and Dhatura flower to the God during puja
  • After this, offer blue flowers to the God
  • Recite the KaalBhairav Mantra “||AtikrurMahakaayKalpaantDahnopam


  • Perform KaalBhairavAarti to complete the puja

Things to do on KaalBhairavJayanti

  • Visit your nearest KaalBhairav or Lord Shiva temple
  • Offer 21 Bel Patra (Bel leaves) with “Om NamahShivaay” written on them with Sandalwood to the Shivaling
  • Feed a black dog with sweet bread to appease Lord KaalBhairav
  • Make offerings such as Sindoor, Mustard oil, Coconut, Chironji seeds, Grams and Jalebi (Indian sweet) to Lord KaalBhairav in any temple
  • One can also visit holy sites such as Kashi, Nasik, etc. to feed the Brahmins
  • It is advised to recite the BhairavAshtakam to please Lord KaalBhairav

Things to avoid on KaalBhairavaJayanti

  • Do not harm dogs on this day
  • Do not worship Lord KaalBhairav without worshipping Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati
  • Do not respect the elderly people around and even your parents
  • Do not perform KaalBhairav puja with a negative intention of hurting others
  • Do not lie or speak badly of anyone; it may be unfavorable

Apart from the abovementioned things, it is also favorable to chant 108 names of Lord KaalBhairava as given below:

  1. Om HreemBhairavaayNamah
  2. Om HreemBhootnathayNamah
  3. Om HreemBhutaatmaneNamah
  4. Om HreemBhu- BhaavnaayNamah
  5. Om HreemKshetranyaayNamah
  6. Om HreemKshetrapaalayNamah
  7. Om HreemKshetradaayNamah
  8. Om HreemKshatriyaayNamah
  9. Om HreemViraajeNamah
  10. Om HreemSmashaanvasineNamah
  11. Om HreemMaansashineNamah
  12. Om HreemKharparashineNamah
  13. Om HreemSmaarantkruteNamah
  14. Om HreemRaktapaayNamah
  15. Om HreemPaanpaayNamah
  16. Om HreemSiddhaayNamah
  17. Om HreemSiddhidaayNamah
  18. Om HreemSiddhisevitaayNamah
  19. Om HreemKankaalaayNamah
  20. Om HreemKaalshamnaayNamah
  21. Om Hreem Kala- Kaashta- TanveNamah
  22. Om HreemKavayeNamah
  23. Om HreemTrinetraayNamah
  24. Om HreemBahunetraayNamah
  25. Om HreemPingallochanaayNamah
  26. Om HreemShulpaanayeNamah
  27. Om HreemKhadagpaanayeNamah
  28. Om HreemDhumralochanaayNamah
  29. Om HreemAbhiraveNamah
  30. Om HreemBhairavinaathayNamah
  31. Om HreemBhootpaayNamah
  32. Om HreemYoginipatayeNamah
  33. Om HreemDhandaayNamah
  34. Om HreemAdhanhaarineNamah
  35. Om HreemDhanvateNamah
  36. Om HreemPratibhaagvateNamah
  37. Om HreemNaagahaarayNamah
  38. Om HreemNaagakeshayNamah
  39. Om HreemVyomkeshayNamah
  40. Om HreemKapaalbhruteNamah
  41. Om HreemKaalayNamah
  42. Om HreemKapaalmaalineNamah
  43. Om HreemKamniyaayNamah
  44. Om HreemKalaanidhayeNamah
  45. Om HreemTrilochanaayNamah
  46. Om HreemJwalnnetrayaNamah
  47. Om HreemTrishikhineNamah
  48. Om HreemTrilokbhruteNamah
  49. Om HreemTrivrutta- TanyaayNamah
  50. Om HreemDimbhaayNamah
  51. Om HreemShaantayNamah
  52. Om HreemShaant- Jan- PriyaayNamah
  53. Om HreemBatukaayNamah
  54. Om HreemBatuveshaayNamah
  55. Om HreemKhatvaang- Var- DhaarkayNamah
  56. Om HreemBhootadhyakshNamah
  57. Om HreemPashupatayeNamah
  58. Om HreemBhikshukaayNamah
  59. Om HreemParichaarkaayNamah
  60. Om HreemDhurtaayNamah
  61. Om HreemDigambarayNamah
  62. Om HreemShauryeNamah
  63. Om HreemHarinaayNamah
  64. Om HreemPandulochanayaNamah
  65. Om HreemPrashantayaNamah
  66. Om HreemShaantidayNamah
  67. Om HreemShuddhayaNamah
  68. Om HreemShankarpriyaBaandhvayaNamah
  69. Om HreemAshtamurtayeNamah
  70. Om HreemNidhishaayNamah
  71. Om HreemDnyaanchakshusheNamah
  72. Om HreemTapomayaayNamah
  73. Om HreemAshtadhaarayNamah
  74. Om HreemShadadhaarayNamah
  75. Om HreemSarpayuktayaNamah
  76. Om HreemShikhisakhayaNamah
  77. Om HreemBhudharayaNamah
  78. Om HreemBhudharadhishayaNamah
  79. Om HreemBhupatayeNamah
  80. Om HreemBhudharatmajayaNamah
  81. Om HreemKapaaldharineNamah
  82. Om HreemMundineNamah
  83. Om HreemNaag- Yadnopavit- VateNamah
  84. Om HreemJrumbhanaayNamah
  85. Om HreemMohanaayNamah
  86. Om HreemStambhineNamah
  87. Om HreemMaarnayaNamah
  88. Om HreemKshobhanayaNamah
  89. Om HreemShuddh- Nilanjan- Prakhya- DehaayNamah
  90. Om HreemMundavibhushanayaNamah
  91. Om HreemBalibhujeNamah
  92. Om HreemBalibhunganathayaNamah
  93. Om HreemBaalayaNamah
  94. Om HreemBaalaparakramayaNamah
  95. Om HreemSarvapat- TaaranayaNamah
  96. Om HreemDurgaayNamah
  97. Om HreemDusht- Bhut- NishevitayaNamah
  98. Om HreemKaamineNamah
  99. Om Hreem Kala- NidhayeNamah
  100. Om HreemKaantayaNamah
  101. Om HreemKamini- Vash- Krud- VashineNamah
  102. Om HreemJagad- Raksha- KaraayNamah
  103. Om HreemAnantayaNamah
  104. Om Hreem Maya- Mantraushadhi- MayaayNamah
  105. Om HreemSarvasiddhiPradaayNamah
  106. Om HreemVaidyaayNamah
  107. Om HreemPrabhavishnaveNamah
  108. Om HreemVishnaveNamah


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *